Malta is an archipelago in the Mediterranean, with Malta and Gozo being its largets islands. It is the smallest country in the EU with an terrestrial area of close to 314km² and a marine area of over 75,000km². The highest point is Ta' Dmejrek reaching 253m. Malta has a population of 520,000 people and a population density of 1,649 people per km².


of land covered

by protected areas


of marine waters

covered by protected areas


species protected

under EU law


habitats protected

under EU law